A Piracy Treasure Hunt

copyright copyThis week for 502 I had to make a scavenger hunt for students on the topic of copyright. I chose to make a Piracy Treasure Hunt. Of course I went all out on it and translated a lot of my text into pirate lingo, included a video of copy right information with pirates in it, and included reward links to pictures of treasure and walking the plank. I had a lot of fun creating something that I thought might be a little bit engaging! Needless to say, I spent way too much time!

From the coding perspective I gained many skills in “experimenting” with design. I have now mastered HTML and CSS to a level where I can try to add new features to my webpage. However, because of my experimentationerrors copy I made many mistakes. For the first time I had errors in my code when I went back to validate it. I had nearly 20 errors (true they were all about the same thing, but still!! 20 errors is a lot!). So I spent over another hour working on fixing my code. It was a lot of work, but now I can say I have good troubleshooting skills.

From the perspective of copyright I now have a much deeper understanding of copyright. I almost wish that I hadn’t had to learn this topic because I no longer can plead a lack of knowledge in my defense. I became much more aware about what resources I can and cannot use. I am afraid I have often broken copyright laws (don’t arrest me, please!). Now I can try to put a better foot forward and teach my students how to use copyright as well.

I like the scavenger hunt activity because I can easily see how you can apply this to a classroom environment. There is so much information on the web that this type of activity can help focus a student on where to look for information instead of just letting them roam free!  planking copy

Leave a comment